WHAT I’M WEARING – AUTUMN EDITION

Autumn is my favourite season for fashion, its a month of transition that means swapping sandals and summer dresses for ankle boots and scarves. I started shopping for the colder months mid September as all of the burgundies, deep greys and forest greens appeared in the shop windows. I have tried my hardest to purchase items that I can mix-and-match together and also pieces that I can wear without tights and jackets this month but then later layer up for Christmas. This blog post will feature some of my staple pieces as some inspiration for your Autumnal wardrobe revamp. All pieces will be linked, where I can, throughout.

14536826_10155214259993265_954401727_oI’m going to start with my favourite and most recent purchase. I had my eye on this check dress since late August when it braced the window of Jack Wills but I couldn’t  quite convince myself to buy an autumnal piece that early on, and the price tag seemed kind of expensive for a dress I thought I’d find duplicated on Asos or something. It wasn’t until this week when Jack Wills had a sale that I tried my luck to see if they still had this piece in stock. To my great delight, not only did they have my size left, but it was also half price (Win Win).

I absolutely love it, its just one of those easy dresses that will look good paired with flat ankle boots and bare legs, but also with tights and a coat. It fits so perfectly and true to size and is a really good quality piece. I can also see myself 14536905_10155214259743265_1579628074_oparing this with a pair of heels for christmas events later in the year.

Here I am wearing the check dress with some staple ankle boots from Primark. I actually  picked these up as a temporary option whilst I found some better quality winter shoes but ended up falling in love with how comfortable and easy to style they are. I think I am definitely going to purchase another pair of them as they are only £12.

I am also wearing my denim jacket which I use though out all the seasons, but especially in Autumn when you need a slight cover up but nothing too heavy. this one is from Topshop and is super easy to layer and just a really good staple to have in your wardrobe throughout the year.

My second look is this jumper and jeans combo that I will be sporting on more casual days. Although this dusty pink colour isn’t typically autumnal, its really in right now and it adds a pop of colour to more monochrome outfits.

img_3450

14550538_10155214257978265_1482693318_o
Here I have switched up my light blue ‘Mom’ jeans for a washed out, distressed, black pair. I am still a huge fan of the ‘Mom’ style as they are so much comfier than skinny jeans and I find with a high waist and a shorter leg they can be really flattering.  These ones are from New Look so they aren’t as expensive and I think I will get a lot of use out of them. I think the dark grey of the jeans goes really well with this dusty pink jumper from H&M. The high neck and zip detail paired with the thick knit  makes it super comfortable and slouchy whilst still being really on trend. I can see this jumper paired with leggings, skirts and even over dresses and its a really good thickness for layering on top of and underneath other pieces.  This jumper is £14.99 and comes in a few different 14528327_1278046168881958_155781771_ncolours, I am seriously considering getting it in black as well, after having seen how comfortable and easy it is to wear. H&M also have 20% off right now for students so I’d take a look as they have some really nice autumnal pieces.

I have also paired this look with my heeled black boots that I bought from Office last year. The platform of the boots gives some height to the cropped jeans and balances out the proportions of this outfit. I am also wearing my black Longchamp bag which I have been getting so much use out of recently as it is big enough to carry all of my books for uni whilst still being comfy, sturdy and weather resistant.

 

 

My next look has more of a dressy feel, I wore this outfit for drinks this weekend and it was perfect for the occasion as it offers something a little bit different. First this pinafore style dress is from H&M, I bought this early September as soon as I saw it as I knew I would get so much use out of it.

img_3466It is a thinner style black pinafore with a low v-neck, this looks so good with high neck tops and jumpers and I found I could really mix-and-match with a lot of pieces I already had. It is a really nice length, that is long enough for more formal occasions. Here I wore it with a lighter grey cropped long sleeved top from New Look, these are really inexpensive and will change up the style of this pinafore really well. Again I am wearing my Primark ankle boots as they just go with everything, but as I was going for drinks I added my Katie Loxton mint green clutch for that pop of colour. Katie Loxton has also got a new range of these clutch bags out that are in really christmassy colours, they make such a good present and are also the perfect sized evening bag.

14550964_1277929145560327_1696361411_oThis look can be easily transformed for colder months by putting tights and a jumper underneath. I also pulled on this deep green scarf when I wore this and it just added a more autumnal and seasonal feel to the outfit. This scarf is from New Look and I just find it so cosy and christmassy and I figured it would go with a lot of my darker coloured jumpers and coats.  In addition you can switch the boots for some heels and couple it with  a white or embellished top and it will be perfect for parties, nights out and christmas events. Or make it more casual by pairing it with a striped tee, a denim jacket and some trainers. This pinafore is so versatile and I am really excited to get so much use out of it this side of the year.

 

My last outfit is slightly more christmassy as I have added this faux fur gilet that I bought last year from New Look to a more casual jumper look.
14522304_10155214256908265_717717023_o  I wear this skirt with everything; from t shirts to jumpers, with tights and without tights and on nights out to seminars. It just works. It is a really simple, high waisted, A-Line denim skirt from Topshop. Paired with this dark grey high neck jumper from H&M which sort of reminds me of a school jumper in colour, but actually goes with so much and is really comfortable and easy to throw on when your in a rush or just want to pop out. To transition this outfit into the evening I have paired it with a faux fur gilet and worn it with bare legs and my trusty ankle boots.

All of the pieces featured can be mixed and matched together to create an array of outfits to see you through Autumn. I am really excited to get lots of wear out of all of theses pieces and for the weather to get colder so I can wrap up in scarves and jumpers.

I hope this blog post has inspired you to get your autumn wardrobe out and to embrace the knitwear, scarves and check prints. Also credit to my photographer Matt Young, who takes the best photos and deals with my direction very patiently.

I am sorry this wasn’t up sooner, I have had a really busy couple of weeks but am now going to attempt to get a new post up weekly, hopefully every Monday. You can follow me on here to get an email notification when I do post just so you don’t miss any, or I also usually post to my social media accounts when I have uploaded so you can follow me on there!

Phoebe Francesca x

 

 

Standard

Leave a Reply

